So I buy these energy saving light bulbs….

Pup.

..and the puppy, who is in the “All Life is a Chew Toy” stage, manages to get the carton from the counter while I’m making coffee.

I was enjoying a rare moment of Saturday morning calm and really should have known better. One quiet minute…two quiet minutes…

“Hey, Pup, where are you?”

I go upstairs and see the cardboard container on the floor. Not a good sign. Then I see a light bulb in the hallway with the metal base missing.

Another bad sign.

He’s in the office, happy as a pig in poo. (Although, are pigs really happy in poo? Maybe/maybe not. I shouldn’t use these expressions without fact-checking them.)

He’s up on the ottoman with  the remnants of a light bulb between his paws. He’s definitely quite pleased with himself. This is my 5th dog, so I don’t panic. I scoop up the glass and put it in the waste basket, then I return to the movie.

After a few minutes, it occurs to me that I did not scoop up enough glass to make a lightbulb.

So I take the mostly intact light bulb (the one with the base missing) and I try to tape the glass from the second bulb onto it in order to re-build the bulb. It’s soon obvious that I only have 1/3 of the glass, which means (after a thorough check under the furniture for missing pieces) that the remaining glass is inside the dog.

Lovely.

I call the vet’s even though they won’t be open for another 20 minutes and leave a message. I scoop up the dog, who is delighted to be going for a ride, and drive to the vet’s and pound on the door.  The vet tech tells me that the doctor will not be in for another 20 minutes and maybe I should just drive him down to the emergency clinic, which I do.

The emergency clinic is a full-service veterinary hospital. It’s open 24 hours a day. It’s very expensive.

The first time I took a dog there, the vet came out and introduced herself by saying: “Hello. I’m Dr. Jones. How will you be paying today?”

As I said, expensive.

On that day, however, they were not worried. “Oh, we see this all the time. We had a Lab in here last week who swallowed a razor blade!”

They explained that they don’t want to induce vomiting, as this could cause more damage. So they sent us home with a case of dog food designed to compact the stools so that the glass passes through without a problem. Very pragmatic.

So, 90 minutes after we left the house, we’re back home. I spent $250.00 for the visit and the dog food.  A bargain.

He loved the dog food, but then, we’ve already established that he is not a discriminate eater.

He curled up for a nap. I decided to go back to the movie, although I can’t for the life of me remember what it was.

5 thoughts on “So I buy these energy saving light bulbs….

    1. I think of Labs as just being fur-covered stomachs. They do seem to eat anything. My friend’s Lab ate a tube of caulking compound that very nearly killed her.

      When I mentioned the light bulb incident to a new vet last week, she said, “Happens a lot. Just give them a slice of bread to eat.” Wish I’d known that before I shelled out $$$ at the emergency clinic.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The worst thing our lab ate was some rat poison when she was a puppy. She had to stay overnight at the vet, take vitamin K, and have follow up visits for a while.Thanks for the tip about the bread!

        Love your blog!

        Like

Leave a Reply

