From the culinary vault: Jell-O Salad

Cubes of Lime jello on a white background

I’ve been browsing through my mother’s old cookbooks and came across this classic.

Please note: I am not recommending it. I offer it only as a piece of American history. Budgets were tight when I grew up (as they are now) and Jell-O was affordable. There seemed to be endless variations on what someone could do with a box of Jell-O and a few other ingredients.

Here, from a community cookbook, is a recipe I am only reproducing in the spirit of history. Please note that the illustration does not represent the finished product. Sadly, we have no record of it, except in our memories.

Jell-O Salad

In top of double boiler, melt 16 large marshmallows in 1 cup milk. Then add 1 large package lime Jell-O and 1 large package cream cheese that has been softened. Cool.

Then, add 1 can crushed pineapple, drained, 1 small carton heavy cream whipped stiffed, and 1/2 cup mayonnaise.

Set until stiff.

(They absolutely lost me at the mayonnaise.)

9 thoughts on “From the culinary vault: Jell-O Salad

      1. Oh, I like my sweet, toxically coloured, artificially fruit flavoured Jell-O like everybody else, born in the 60ies. Wonderful to get such a thing after a hot day at school.
        Just mayonnaise .. sorry … nope …

        Like

      2. I grew up with it, too. There’s something about the toxic mix of ingredients, plus that thick jello skin that turned me off of it forever. Plus my university served it for 14 meals a week.

        Like

Leave a Reply

