When your car drives better than you do

KTneKaL8c Have you seen the “Distracted Driver” commercial for Infinity automobiles? As the man at the wheel drives through the streets, his mind is racing: “Am I missing a deadline?” “Will I get there on time?”  “Am I going too fast?” (On this last question, might I suggest he check the speedometer on his dashboard?)

A mere four seconds into the commercial, he makes his first driving error: he drifts into the next lane. But wait!! His Infinity alerts him. “Stay in your lane,” he reminds himself.

Does this mistake cause him to sit up a little straighter and pay attention to the road? No, it does not. He goes right back to daydreaming. “I don’t think I sent that e-mail.” “I should have made a reservation,” he thinks as his car drifts into the path of an auto in the next lane. Didn’t he learn anything from six seconds earlier? Apparently not but what does that matter? His Infinity is on duty and it sounds the alarm! Accident averted. The driver realizes his mistake. “I thought it was clear,” he thinks. (And how many times have we read that statement on an accident report?)

Certainly the driver has been jolted into a state of caution, you might think. But you would think wrong because this driver is now gazing out the right side window as he drives. He is unaware that the van in front of him has come to a sudden stop. His Infinity saves his bacon once again. There will be no rear end collision because the Infinity brakes for him, but the driver is not chastened. He does not park the car and walk. He does not admit that he is the worst driver in the world. Instead, he keeps driving and we hear him think, “I didn’t see that coming.” Well, duh!

So does the commercial end with a disclaimer to not ever drive like this man? Of course not. It ends with a voice-over announcer delivering the tag line about this Infinity: “Its instinct to protect leaves you free to drive.” Yes, drive like a blindfolded chimpanzee. Drive into Walden Pond. Just drive someplace where you won’t hurt anyone.

12 thoughts on “When your car drives better than you do

  1. Like a blindfolded chimpanzee?? Now see, if I had read that while I was driving (don’t worry–Instinct has this one), I would be laughing so hard, who knows where in the hell I would drift….Probably into Mayhem. But I think he’s so cute!

    Like

    1. He might as well be texting on his phone while he’s at it. Infinity might think this ad is about how nice their cars are, but all I get out of it (besides this blog post) is that I’m afraid to go out on the road with all these distracted drivers.
      We already have a form of transportation that takes care of the driving for you: it’s called public transportation, like a bus or train.

      Like

  2. I missed this commercial, now I need to watch for it. Some people can’t wait until cars can completely do the driving for them. I wonder how that will work out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

