Just checking the time.

iStock_000011605231Small

All right, I’ll admit it. I love wristwatches.

Oh, I know. They’re considered passe by a lot of people. Why check your wrist when you can check your phone? Better yet, why not just get a watch that’s synced to your phone or monitors your pulse?

Well, because I enjoy having different watches, that’s why. I pick them to match my outfits. I change them because I can.

If you were to read the catalog of the watches I’ve owned, you’d notice one theme: none of them–from my first Mickey Mouse watch to the current group of battery-powered and nice-enough looking watches–were very expensive.

There are gaps when I go without a watch, however.This is due to my practical but inefficient method of gathering them all up to have their batteries replaced at the same time. This is not a good plan because the batteries die at the same time. I go from a wealth of timepieces to nothing that runs. Then, instead of just replacing the batteries, I end up buying another watch from one of those revolving display cases at the drug store.

This does not mean that I don’t appreciate a fine timepiece; I just can’t afford most of them. I don’t mind this because it keeps me humble.

I do, however, indulge in pouring over the watch advertisements in the Sunday newspapers. These are timepieces that I cannot afford, so I just read the ads and admire the watches. One thing I’ve noticed is that the more expensive the watch is, the less the ad talks about the watch.

Instead, you get copy such as this:

  • Patek Phillipe: “You never actually own a Patek Phillipe. You merely look after it for the next generation.”
  • Rolex: “Live for greatness.”
  • Movado: “The art of time.”
  • Ball: “This is your invitation./To realize that yesterday’s best is just a starting point for today…”

This raises the bar considerably higher than what I’m used to, which is “Timex takes a lickin’ and keeps on tickin’.

The watches in the ads are lovely timepieces but, honestly, I’m fine without them. I don’t need the ego boost or the worry about whether my watch will be stolen.

I just check my watch to see if it’s time for Downton Abbey.

4 thoughts on “Just checking the time.

  1. I am naked without my wristwatch! From my first Cinderella watch (still have the face but no wrist band) through Timex and now Seiko. I would be too nervous to wear one of those other watches.

    Like

Leave a Reply

