Thanksgiving, already. Really,?

IMAG0246

These handsome wild birds live somewhere in the woods near where I work. If you’ve only seen  turkeys in the supermarket, I’m here to tell you that these are wild turkeys. Evidently, they aren’t bread with breasts so large that they can’t actually stand. And — amazingly! — they aren’t born with white plastic pop-up thermometers in their breasts.

Well, I’ve been away for a while, but here it is Thanksgiving already. No wonder I couldn’t find a parking space at Whole Foods yesterday.

I’ve have so many Thanksgiving dinners: some wonderful; some painful. I have warm memories of dinners with my family and friends. Then again, I have nightmares of dinner disasters.

This year. after watching this handsome flock,  I decided to go way back to an old family memory, when it was just my parents and myself and we all admitted that we didn’t care for turkey. So, we piled in the car and drove to the small Chinatown in Cleveland, Ohio for dinner at a Chinese restaurant. Believe me when I say that ours was not a family of radicals; we just liked Chinese food. And, as a bonus, the family that owned the restaurant had children who were just a little tired of Chinese food. So, they would roast a turkey each Thanksgiving and prepare a traditional American Thanksgiving dinner. And as the diners would come to the restaurant, the owners’ children would gather around the roasted turkey and pray that no one would order a turkey dinner that day…a win-win for all of us.

I can’t drive to Cleveland today and, if I could, I don’t really know where the restaurants are these days. I can and did, however, order carryout yesterday, so my loyal dog and I are bringing back that really fun (and tasty) tradition when Won Ton Soup was on the menu.

So, no turkeys on the menu this year, but lots of wonderful memories. I hope the same for you.

One thought on “Thanksgiving, already. Really,?

Leave a Reply

