Good Luck

pork_and_sauerkraut

So long, 2015. I’m going to miss you because I just liked writing “2015.” I’m sure I’ll get the hang of “2016” in a month or two.

I grew up in Ohio and our traditional New Year’s Day meal was pork and sauerkraut, which was supposed to bring good luck through the new year. I’ve always considered myself fairly lucky and I do like pork and sauerkraut, so I’ve continued the family tradition. It’s tasty and why take chances? This seems to be a popular New Year’s meal in the Midwest; in the South, it might be black-eyed peas and ham hocks.

When I moved to New England, I discovered most people had never heard of a good luck meal. Given the way that these folks drive, I would think they must be eating something for good luck because most of them do make it home from work each day.

I’m off to the store. Given that the market serves the Polish neighbors here in town, maybe I’ll vary the menu with kielbasi and pierogi this year.  And sauerkraut, of course.

What is on your New Year’s menu? Whatever your meal might include, I wish you health and good luck in the coming year.

See you in 2016.

 

5 thoughts on “Good Luck

  1. We are having German style cabbage rolls. Ground pork, ground beef and rice wrapped in boiled cabbage and covered with sauerkraut. Moving from NY to the Midwest three years ago I had never heard of a good luck meal on NYE. How funny to find our I had been serving one all along!

    Like

Leave a Reply

